Dezember 22

The 8 limbs of Yoga


The eight limbs of yoga, also known as the „eight paths“ or „Ashtanga Yoga,“ are a classical framework for the spiritual practice of yoga, outlined in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. The eight limbs are:

  1. Yama: ethical disciplines or restraints, including non-harming (ahimsa), truthfulness (satya), non-stealing (asteya), sexual responsibility (brahmacharya), and non-hoarding (aparigraha).
  2. Niyama: personal observances, including purity (saucha), contentment (santosha), self-discipline (tapas), self-study (svadhyaya), and surrender to a higher power (ishvara pranidhana).
  3. Asana: physical postures or poses, which are used to cultivate physical strength, flexibility, and stability.
  4. Pranayama: breath control practices, which are used to regulate the breath and improve prana, or vital energy.
  5. Pratyahara: withdrawal of the senses, which involves turning inward and becoming more aware of one’s own thoughts and sensations rather than being influenced by external stimuli.
  6. Dharana: concentration, which involves focusing the mind on a single object or thought.
  7. Dhyana: meditation, which involves maintaining a state of uninterrupted concentration.
  8. Samadhi: enlightenment or union with the Divine, which is the ultimate goal of yoga practice.

These eight limbs are meant to be followed in a sequential manner, with the understanding that each limb supports the development of the ones that follow.


You may also like

Test new Post

Test new Post

Who is Sadhguru

Who is Sadhguru
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Get in touch

0 of 350