Dezember 28

What are the five Koshas?


The five koshas, also known as the five sheaths or the five layers of being, are a concept in the yoga tradition that describe the different levels of the human being. The five koshas are:

  1. Annamaya kosha: The physical body, which is composed of the gross physical matter and is sustained by food.
  2. Pranamaya kosha: The energy body, which is composed of the vital energy or prana that animates the physical body and is responsible for the body’s movements and functions.
  3. Manomaya kosha: The mental body, which is composed of the mind and its functions, including thinking, feeling, and perception.
  4. Vijnanamaya kosha: The wisdom body, which is the seat of higher consciousness and is responsible for understanding, discernment, and self-reflection.
  5. Anandamaya kosha: The bliss body, which is the highest and most subtle layer of the human being and represents the experience of pure joy and bliss.

According to the yoga tradition, the koshas are not separate entities but are interconnected and influence each other. The goal of yoga practice is to bring balance and harmony to all the koshas, leading to a state of well-being and self-realization.

Creative representation of the five energy subtle bodies of man as a covering of the Atman


You may also like

Test new Post

Test new Post

Who is Sadhguru

Who is Sadhguru
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Get in touch

0 of 350